Manic Monday

Marcus always gets to pick a song or two for me (or sometimes his Daddy) to sing before he goes to bed.  Lately, he’s been stuck on The Bangles’ “Manic Monday.”  I’m not sure how this song even entered the rotation, but he can’t get enough of it.  I tried to weasel out of it the other night by saying I had forgotten the words, but he said, “Mom.  Let me help you.  It starts like this.  6 o’clock already, I was just in the middle of a dream.  I was kissing Valentino by a crystal blue Italian stream.  Like that, mama.”  As he wasn’t letting me off the hook, I figured I should at least alter the lyrics so that he doesn’t raise too many eyebrows at school.

6 o’clock already, I was just in the middle of a dream
I was kissin’ Valentina by a crystal blue Italian stream
But I can’t be late, cuz then I guess I just won’t get paid
These are the days when you wish your bed was already made

[CHORUS]

Have to catch an early bus, have to be to school by 9
But if I had an airplane, I still wouldn’t be there on time
‘Cuz it takes me so long just to figure out what I’m gonna wear
Blame it on the bus, but the teacher’s already there

[CHORUS]

I omit the ‘bedroom voice’ verse entirely.  Otherwise…

Marcus at school comic

Leave a Reply

